Daniel’s Gift – William Angelo

Now, with my mind clear, I can turn to the gift that I am building for John. It is by far the most complicated piece of joinery I have attempted – ever…

…The cuts are clean, made with fine-quality back-saws that I have kept sharp. Two hands on the saw, one hand on the timber, just as I was taught. The dovetails are tight. I’m pleased when I see them, not out of vanity, but because they are exactly how they should be.

I made the casing for the hidden mechanism from merbau because I needed a very hard wood. I had never used it before and, when I had completed the boxes, sanded and polished them, I was astonished by the way they sparkled, as though they were sprinkled with flecks of gold. I sat and stared at them, turning them around in the light for nearly an hour. Then they went into the assembly, out of sight forever.

 

If you’ve enjoyed this snippet and would like to read the rest of the story, why not purchase a copy of the book? The Stories for Homes anthology, containing 63 stories and poems by both award-winning and yet-to-be-published authors became a bestseller AND all royalties go to the charity Shelter.

Leave a Reply

